Locations and Functions of the Chakras

Taken from “The Pocket Guide to Chakras” by Joy Gardner-Gordon


1st (Base Chakra) at the tailbone – energy at the center is governed by whether or not you received unconditional love and affection as a child.  When your first chakra is strong, you will be grounded and comfortable in your body, the world will feel like your home, and you will be competent at handling practical affairs.


2nd Chakra, below navel – This relates to sexuality, sociability, friendliness and desire, not just sexual desire, but the desire for anything – friends, love, material possessions, power, God.  The energy at this chakra fires up those desires and gives you the enthusiasm to reach out and achieve your goals.  It is also the center of physical strength.


3rd Chakra at the solar plexus, above the navel – This is the center of your special gift, your inner sun, and how it shines out in the world.  All the digestive organs (except the large intestine) are located here, so it governs the digestion.  It also relates to self-esteem and self-worth.  This is the center of gut-level intuition.


4th Chakra (heart) at the center of the chest - This chakra governs your ability to give and receive unconditional love and affection.  When you experience loss, your heart will remain open if you allow yourself to feel all your emotions, including sorrow and anger.  But if you try to protect yourself from pain by putting up walls, your heart energy will close down.


5th Chakra (throat) at the base of the neck – This is your center of communication, creativity, and opening to spirituality.  Speech and singing originate from here. Writing and teaching are also associated with this chakra.


6th Chakra (third eye) at the center of the forehead – This is about your openness to metaphysical knowledge.  It relates to your higher intuition, from which all things are known.


7th Chakra (crown) at the top of the head – From here you feel your openness to Spirit.  When it is open you will experience a fullness in your meditations.


Systemic Correspondences


1ST Chakra – Genitals, bladder, anus

2nd Chakra – ovaries, large intestine, uterus,

3rd Chakra – Adrenals, Isles of Langerhans (insulin), stomach, spleen, liver, gall bladder, small intestine, kidneys, pancreas

4th Chakra – Thymus: heart and lungs

5th Chakra – Thyroid, parathyroid

6th Chakra – Pituitary, brain

7th Chakra – Pineal, brain