Chakras are psycho-spiritual energy centers in the body.  The seven major chakras are:


  • The Saturn, or Muladhara, chakra at the base of the spine (source of dormant energy) 

  • The Jupiter, or Swadhisthana, chakra behind lower abdomen (source of creative energy and passion)

  • The Mars, or Manipura, chakra behind the navel (source of action energy and of the digestive fire) 

  • The Venus, or Anahata, chakra behind the heart (source of compassionate energy and emotion)

  • The Mercury, or Vishuddha, chakra in the throat (source of communication energy) 

  • The Sun, or Anja, chakra on the forehead at the site of the urna, or third eye (source of intuitive energy, unclouded perception, and intuition)

  • The Thousand Petalled Lotus, or Sahasrara chakra, at the crown of the head (source of enlightenment energy and self-realization)


  ~Taken from, "The Complete Idiot's Guide to Meditation" by Joan Budilovsky and Eve Abramson