Tarot Suits and Keywords


Author Unknown

A Tarot deck has 78 cards which are broken down in the following manner:

  • ~22 major Arcana

  • ~40 Minor Arcana

  • ~16 Court Cards

The word "arcana" means secret or hidden. The Marjor Arcana are "big secrets". The Minor Arcana are "little secrets". The Major Arcana cards reveal the charcater and mental condition of the Querent (person getting the reading). These cards are the most important in the spread. The Major Arcana cards can be used alone and will answer whatever questions are asked of them.


The Minor Arcana cards show specific directions in the person's life and thinking and explain ideas, people at work or home, and others in relationships. The Minor Arcana has four suits: Wands, Cups,  Pentacles and Swords. The explanations that follow give key words and description of each suit.



Key words: Work and social activities

Element of Fire: Action, enthusiasm, courage, zeal, passion, enterprise

Zodiacal Signs: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius


Key words: Love and emotions

Element of Water: Emotions, intuition, subconscious, memories, birth, marriage

Zodiacal Signs: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces


Key word: Money and health

Element of Earth: Stability, dependability, reliability, material possessions, health matters

Zodiacal Signs: Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn


Key words: Problems and troubles

Element of Air: Mental attitudes, discrimination, strife, adaptability

Zodiacal Signs: Gemini, Libra, Aquarius


In a spread:

~ Many Wands: Work or social activities

~ Many Cups: Love or emotional matters

~ Many Pentacles: Money matters or health problems

~ Many Swords: Problems or troubles.

~ Many Major Arcana and Court Cards: Too many people are trying to influence the Querent.

Key words/phrases for the Minor Arcana Cards:

Ace's - I will/ I will not

Two's - I know/I don't know

Three's - I make/I don't make

Four's - I realize/ I do not realize

Five's - I believe/ I do not believe

Six's - I choose/I do not choose

Seven's - The wiser path/ Not being in control, unstable

Eight's - Strength (we have strength..)/ Lacking strength to overcome

Nine's - Using wisdom gained through experience/ Lacking wisdom

Ten's - Time to make changes/ No changes at this time. The only things in life